How to Study while Studying Abroad

While studying abroad is fun and games, it does actually require studying. The purpose of studying abroad is to learn, but in an environment outside of the traditional class room. I learned a lot while studying abroad and have been able to use my studies in school and during my internships. Its easy to get distracted abroad, but here’s how to stay focused.

IMG_2698

 

I lived in Freiburg, Germany, but while there I took classes learning about the politics of the European Union (EU), and the different policies that different EU countries implement. I learned why and how the EU was created, the different branches of government, and how each EU country follows EU laws while also upholding their own autonomous powers. In the average class room this may sound boring, but being able to travel to seven capitals of different European cities to learn about different policies, now that’s exciting.

You will learn a lot abroad, and you may actually like what you learn, so here’s how to stay focused and actually study while studying abroad:

Find you niche

I couldn’t really focus in my room, so I liked to do my work in my abroad center, but when it was closed on the weekends, I liked to work in the Starbucks in town ( I know it sounds very American of me, but that was the only place in town with wifi). I personally like to study outside of my room, where I can still see people but I can also get into my own bubble. Find a spot that works best for you.

Time management

I loved to travel, but I also cannot do homework or study while I am on a bus or flying (I say I will but I never do). I set goals for how long I want to work on an assignment and set my own personal deadlines before the actual due date so I can get things done, and save time for fun things.

IMG_4845

Stay organized

Prioritize what work needs to be done and find a system that works best for you to stay on top of your work and make time for yourself. I like to make lists to see what needs to be done and which assignments I know that the most effort. College Tourist also offers some great times to help you stay organized during your semester.

Never stress about homework 

You’re suppose to have fun abroad, the only thing you should stress about is which flavor of gelato you will try. I once had a 20 page paper and a 5 page essay due on the same day after my spring break. I knew I would not work on it all break, so I finished as much as possible before my break began. If you plan things out you are less likely to stress. Never let stress ruin your health or your fun.

Apply these skills to everything you do

If you have a routine down to get work done, this can help you not only during studying abroad, but generally in life. In the US everyone is always rushing to do as much as possible before the day is done, but if you work right you can do anything. The Creative Post offers so great tips on how to work smarter, not harder to save yourself time and energy. I use the tips from this link in my own daily life and it makes a huge difference.

Leave a comment