You’re Abroad, Now What?

Welcome to your study abroad destination! This will be you new home for the next couple of months, it may not feel like it right away but don’t worry you will settle in.

After getting off my train in Freiburg, I had to go find my study abroad center where they would give me important information and lead me to my apartment (university dorm rooms don’t exist in Freiburg for students) where I would meet my suite mates. I took me a couple tries trying to find the center and I remember being so nervous about living with new roommates.

Everyone in my study abroad center was so nice and welcoming (they could probably tell how nervous all the students were) and having an orientation for the first week helped me make friends (we still talk and hang out months after studying abroad).

Once you arrive at your study abroad center/ study abroad destination:

Get to know the staff

They are experts at welcoming new students every year who are study  abroad; they are there to help you. If you have any questions do not hesitate to ask, they will be happy to help you.

Take a deep breathe

It was overwhelming for me at first being alone and in a new home not knowing anyone, but I just remembered to get a hold of myself and try to get all my things settled. It’s okat to feel nervous being somewhere new

Say “Hello” 

Reach out to people in the program, and you will meet friends. I am an introvert and can be shy when I first meet people, but I become more extroverted once I am comfortable with someone. All the study abroad students in my apartment building went out for pizza and I just started randomly talking to people; everyone in my building later came to be great friends.

Dial H-O-M-E

Parents are probably more nervous about you; making sure you are where you need to be and this will put them mentally at ease. It may also help put your mind at ease as well. I talked to my parents and a friend from home and already I started to feel better.

Make your own home away from home

Decorate your room a little, nothing fancy, enough to make your room feel comfortable. After all, you will be living there for the next six months. Luckily there was an IKEA in my town and me and some friends did a field trip to get some basic things like pillows and blankets to make our room cozier. I would buy postcards from every city I visited and hang them all up on a wall.

IMG_2215

Pay attention at orientation

Here you will get to know your city, classmates, staff, and even helpful tips catered to your personal study abroad experience. This will help you better understand your program and your city.

Checklist on your first week abroad offers some other great tips to consider upon your arrival abroad.

Don’t believe me, here is another student’s account of their arrival story.

Your first week abroad will feel the longest and then soon it will be your last week and will wish that you could stay.

About the post

Uncategorized

Leave a comment